People who know who the perverts are.

One time, several years ago, I was riding on a bus at night.  The only other passenger was a middle-aged African-American woman who was muttering to herself about “perverts.”  She seemed mentally unbalanced, angry, and agitated, muttering about how the town was full of perverts.  “Perverts!  I know who the perverts are!” she’d say.
I was sitting a few seats behind her, on the other side of the aisle, but she was sideways in her seat and so I was well within her field of vision.  Her rant about “perverts” was disturbing at first, but after a while I began to find it somewhat comical.
I suppressed a smile, but she noticed my struggle to contain myself.  And then a funny thing happened.  Her agitation seemed to lift, she looked directly at me and her words became teasing, almost gentle.  “Yeaaahh,” she said, “I know who the perverts are.”  At which point I could no longer contain a grin, and the lady chuckled softly to herself and smiled.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to People who know who the perverts are.

  1. Jim says:

    This motherly power to accuse and judge is a form of female privilege. We are all just dirty little boys to them, and they get to convict and sentence, or so they think. Sometimes even younger women use it, even with older men. It’s culturally systemic.

  2. @Jim: I don’t think mentally ill women muttering to themselves on public transportation can fairly be said to be exercising “female privilege.”

  3. Jim says:

    Ah, you thought she was mentally ill. She sounded pretty normal to me. Just kidding. You said that pretty clearly.

    Now look at the culture around who gets labled a pedophikle, who gets called pervert generally.

Comments are closed.