Getting beaten up by a girl.

Back when I was in high school, I had a class with a horrible girl named  “Jennifer.”  She hated me, and one day announced loudly that she was going to beat the shit out of me.  Needless to say, this immediately put me in a lose-lose situation.  You can’t hit a girl, and this is a moral code I happen to agree with, however much I may have wanted to beat up Jennifer that day.

Men are usually physically stronger than women, yet it’s also true that, in the social realm, women are allowed to take certain liberties that men are not.

That last sentence I write as a discussion starter.  Something to contemplate.  It’s a vague statement, which may or may not be “true,” but it was something I though about when watching the late comedian Bill Hicks respond to a female heckler with infamous language:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Getting beaten up by a girl.

  1. arctic_jay says:

    It’s morally reprehensible to hold that only men cannot hit a member of the opposite gender.

    It makes no sense to use strength disparity as a justification. Otherwise, every time two people got into a fight, the winner, by winning, will have proven they had no right to engage in the fight in the first place.

    The “don’t hit girls” rule is misandry, pure and simple.

  2. humbition says:

    It makes no sense to use winning or losing a fight to prove any other point besides who has more strength than the other. Which should not be the basis for winning or losing whatever the basis of the fight was.

    Hence men and women, boys and girls, are taught to avoid assaulting each other. We don’t resolve the “chivalrous” asymmetry of hitting rules by allowing males to hit females; quite the opposite. Men not hitting women, boys not hitting girls, is a good rule. With gender equality we simply also enforce that women don’t hit men, and girls don’t hit boys.

    We admit that creating the rule, males don’t hit females, changes the power balance. That is what it is intended to do. Some females take advantage of this and exploit the assymetry to harm males in ways they wouldn’t without the rule. We simply need to use common sense and condemn those females as well.

    I think, by the way, that feminism is moving in that direction, and faster than we think.

  3. Jim says:

    “I think, by the way, that feminism is moving in that direction, and faster than we think.”

    As fast as the Boomer generation and thier disciples are dying off, and not much faster. This is still faster than the movement in the general culture is. A related point is the congruence between the general culture’s chivalry and this as you call it earlier feminism.

  4. Jim says:

    As I was saying…..
    http://www.avoiceformen.com/2010/12/22/florida-woman-is-beaten-near-death-how-funny/

    This kind of thing was very feminist back in the early 90’s, with films like the Burning Bed all the rage and Lorena Bobbitt touted as a real feminist hero. Of course it was beyond the pale to describe her crime as domestic abuse..

  5. Feyline says:

    arctic_jay: I think that the “don’t hit girls” bit is, on its own, not misandry. It’s the other side of the coin, the implied “it’s okay to hit boys” that’s the real problem.

    This is one of my least favorite under-acknowledged anti-male double standards, in part because I took advantage of it when I was young (I’m a woman.) In lower school, I’d often hit and push around boys who were bothering me. It was intended to be in good fun, but the fact remains that nobody ever tsked me for using physical force to get what I wanted, and it took me an inexcusably long time (I was in 6th grade by the time I figured it out) to realize that what I was doing wasn’t fair, and had the potential to cause a great deal of harm.

    Not to mention how it feeds in to things like the trivializing of woman-on-man domestic violence.

  6. TrollKING says:

    Feyline.

    Girls like you are the reason some of my friends put a bullet in their heads. I hope you know that. I just found this blog from a feminist blog and don’t actually know what to make of it. I was raised as a feminist but now consider myself a anti feminist(and no I have no interest in womens rights or taking them away).

    Women and girls create maleness in our society by controlling the microcosmic nature of boys. These boys grow up to become the macrocosm of idealized cultural maleness. I wonder how many of those boys that you beat on grew up to rape women or beat them or murder them or men for that matter.

  7. Danny says:

    I think, by the way, that feminism is moving in that direction, and faster than we think.
    You mean they finally got the memo that gender disparity isn’t a one way street?

    Perhaps they will finally realize that the message for young boys (and young girls) isn’t “Respect Women”. No that message is already drilled into most boys heads (and frankly I think the double standard mentioned in this post has something to do with why some men do end up attacking women). The message needs to be “Respect People”. Because if I’m not mistaken according to one radical notion women are people right?

  8. @TrollKING: I’m a big fan of free expression, and I’d like everyone to be able to comment freely and openly on this blog, without self-censoring for fear of being personally attacked. To that end, a comment like “you are the reason some of my friends put a bullet in their heads” is not terribly productive.
    – Miguel

  9. @Miguel – it is less productive to respond to @TrollKING than to just let him sit under the bridge. Don’t feed the trolls.

  10. Jim says:

    ‘To that end, a comment like “you are the reason some of my friends put a bullet in their heads” is not terribly productive.”

    It is in specific cases, as for example when TrollKing is talking to someone strong and honest and self-examining enough to make the comment that Feyline did. It obviously is not going to work with just anybody.

Comments are closed.