Intro.

This will be a blog about feminism and sexuality, written from the perspective of a man who was involuntarily celibate for eight years.(1)  That may sound like a joke, but it isn’t.  The name of the blog, “EmporiaSexus,” is just a name I made up.  It is of Latin origin, I believe.  My pen name, “Miguel Bloomfontosis,”(2) is also a creation of mine.  If there really exists someone by that name, my apologies to the Bloomfontosis family.

One of the inspirations for this blog – but not the only inspiration – was a post by the pseudonymous “Phaedra Starling” on the blog, “Shapely Prose,” entitled “Schrödinger’s Rapist.”  I’ll write my thoughts about this in a follow-up post.

Among other things, I would like to write about the nexus between sexual violence and the social and sexual isolation of young men.(3)  I would also like to write in a manner that is not dry as dust or boring as hell.  But there is always a tension between humor and serious subjects.  So, if what I may write in future posts ever comes across as deliberately hurtful, it is not intended to be.  (Flippant, sometimes yes.  Deliberately hurtful, never.)

I should also mention that I consider myself an ally of feminism, for the most part.  And no, I don’t have Asperger’s syndrome.

*                         *

Update, 7/10/12 >> I don’t generally update old posts.  But since this is my introductory post, I thought I’d clarify a few things.
(1)  True.  However, were I starting this blog today, that’s not something I’d “lead with”.  Not that going without sex is a mark of shame or something to be hidden.  But when I say this blog is “written from the perspective of a man who was involuntarily celibate for eight years” it gives the impression that that experience was the primary shaper of my personal perspective, and that’s not the case.  Furthermore, that’s a rather sad-mouse part of my past and, while certainly one aspect of who I am, it isn’t even close to being the most important aspect.
(2)  Now it’s “Miguel Canabosis”, because why not.
(3)  There certainly is a “nexus between sexual violence and the social and sexual isolation of young men”.  Social connections are harder to make in a coarser and more violent world.  I’ve touched on this eye-gougingly grim topic.  But it’s a narrow topic and not the primary focus of this blog.  (In addition to feminism and sexuality, I’m trying to expand the focus a bit and will now be blogging about “the system” and “whatnot”.)  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.